Here in the UK, between 1am and 4am Monday Morning, World Wrestling Entertainment will make History. Again, involving the revamped Women’s Division. For at some point during this event, Sasha Banks and Charlotte Flair will continue their rivalry for the WWE Women’s Championship (Raw Version) this time inside the confines of their infamous Hell in a Cell.

It will be one of three matches on the show that will take place in the huge structure, alongside the United States Championship and the WWE Universal Championship. However it is the Women’s Championship Match that is getting all the attention. Because its 2016, and women can do everything that men can, equal if not better.

And here is where, as some of my closest friends, no brothers, know full well, is the moment I drop the “pipebomb”.

I couldn’t care less for it, I don’t really want to see it, and this is the last place you should put these two women tomorrow night. Because this, in my opinion will go one of two ways. Injury or just plain awful.

I’m all for equal opportunity. I’m all for women having the same rights, skills, beliefs, opportunities, everything this planet offers. However this is one of those situations where it is Feminism For Feminism’s Sake. WWE are doing what they have done with people they want to push for years. Force it upon you, and it’s your fault if you don’t like it.

For those reading this, who will think they will shock me with “But TSG, Wrestling is fake, its pre-determined, they know who’s going to win, no one really gets hurt” I ask you to take a look on YouTube at the following:

Of course they know how to fall, but it doesn’t stop it from hurting. Just to be crystal clear. That white thing hanging out of Mick Foley’s Nose. its one of his teeth. having pierced it. After he went through the cell roof.

Now take a look at Exhibit B (credit Billy Skywalker Gaming)

Shane McMahon, well, he has a load of shares in the company. His dad Vince Jnr, owns the thing. He did this voluntarily. And this is one of the issues. Injury.

There is talk on a lot of wrestling websites that Charlotte wants to do something similar tomorrow night. She wants to do either a jump, dive, or some form of spectacular move from the top of the structure. You see for me the problem I have is Sasha Banks isn’t the type of person I would be relying on to help break my fall. As you can see, Sasha (the woman on the left for those not familiar with WWE) is slight, even for a female wrestler. She is damn talented and has an array of technical moves. But I truly feel if Charlotte (on the right of the lead pic, for process of elimination) does insist on doing this spot, someone, or both will be hurt. And that is my fear.

Which leads me onto my next concern. The match is just awful. And for this I wouldn’t blame either wrestler. I would lay the blame solely at the feet of their employers, World Wrestling Entertainment. Allow me to clarify.

There is a Developmental Department in WWE, called NXT. Here Charlotte and Sasha Banks, along with 2 other highly talented women Becky Lynch and Bayley redefined the role of women in professional wrestling. They took the whole concept of women just being something for guys watching to look at, models and cheerleaders fast-tracked to work on 3 minute matches, which my brothers and I affectionately called “Piss Break Matches”.

It’s true, that all they were good for, until these 4 women came along in NXT, and span a whole new definition. Bayley and Sasha Banks had a modern classic at NXT in Brooklyn, and was rewarded with a 30 minute Iron Woman Match, the first major show WWE held where the Women were the final match of the night. The Main Event. And it delivered. In spades.

And like when all talent develops the First Team soon come calling. Although Bayley was left behind, not as a slight, but to bring the next wave of Women’s Wrestling through in NXT, Banks, Lynch and Flair came to the main roster and were pushed to varying degrees of success initially. But the pushes kept coming, and coming. And although all 3 women have now held a form of the Women’s Title (Lynch holds the current equivalent on WWE’s other TV show, SmackDown Live) the inevitability that the women would main event a Pay Per View show before the end of 2016 was something that was not to be stopped.

Or is it? Because even the senior management aren’t sure if they are going to give the women that coveted Last Match spot on the show. First Mick Foley, who on Raw is the General Manager, stated on Social Media that Banks v Charlotte was the last match, then partially retracted it, saying he doesn’t know for definite.

Just today the company owner Vince McMahon called it part of a Triple Main Event, using the Women as the accompanying photo, then deleted the post on Twitter. Simple fact is, they don’t know either. Do they have the same concerns that I do? That the match is now under so much pressure, the women will be forced to leave their comfort zones of the matches they have had previously? And trust me there have been a load of them over the last 2 years.

Is there concerns that the fans, both in the arena and at home really don’t want to see them fight again, this time in a Cell, just for the sake of “expanding the boundaries of Women’s Wrestling. Do they not want to see either, or both women get hurt? And usually after a Cage or Cell match, that’s the end of the storyline, but will it be? Who else is ready to step into the gap left by the loser?

So there you go. That’s my take on it. If I’m proven wrong, it’s not the first time, certainly wont be the last. Let’s see what happens.

As always, thank you to you, dear reader for getting through this. I do it for fun, but knowing you are reading it means a lot to this old fossil.

Feel free to like this post, and the site. Subscribe so you get a ping when I write something else. And follow me on the Twitter

@_sportingguy

Until next time the urge to type takes me,

That Sporting Guy